As part of the Connectors framework we have a concept called “Run Modes”. A Run Mode is a setting that determines if we should delete any entities during the run, and if so, which ones.
This is most relevant when creating Connectors with the Crawler or API as the source (and will not be relevant for Connectors using third-party apps, as those apps have built-in functionality and logic to support deletion of entities).
When configuring Connectors, there are three Run Modes you can choose from: Default, Comprehensive, and Deletion.
If the Run Mode is Default, new entities present in the run will be created and existing entities will be updated. No entities will be deleted. This is the default behavior for all runs, as it is the least risky.
If the Run Mode is Comprehensive, the Connector will treat each run as a comprehensive data set, so any entities that were created in a previous run but are not present in the current run will be deleted. This will work well for Pull Connectors that expect to fetch the entire data set each time it is run. Anything missing from that data set has presumably been deleted from the source system and should be deleted in Yext.
If the Run Mode is Deletion, the Connector will delete every entity supplied in that run. This will work well for Push Connectors that need to delete specific entities when they are deleted in the source system. It is very unlikely that this would be used for a Pull Connector unless the desire was to delete all entities created by the Connector (e.g., if a mistake was made in the configuration and you wanted to start again).
Setting up a Run Mode
This gets set up when scheduling the cadence of a Connector. This can be done on the Summary page once the Connector runs, or by navigating to Knowledge Graph > Connectors then clicking View next to the relevant connector. Click on the Schedule field and select your desired Run Mode.
To learn more about Run Modes visit the Managing Connectors training unit.